2024 Nomination of Golf Club Officials update

As announced on 31st January, Desert Springs is holding its twentieth annual election for members to choose a Vice-Captain, Treasurer, two members for the Club’s Handicap and three members for the Club’s Competition Committee, for the period 1st April 2024 through 31st March 2025.  All members were sent a ‘Desert Springs Golf Club Officials Election Nomination Form’ and copies have been displayed at the resort reception in the Club House.

Simon Coaker, Director of Golf commented,

“We are advising the membership of the nominations received to date as we believe that this will assist in the process and remove uncertainty as to whether anyone has been nominated for any particular role already or not.”

To date the following persons have accepted their nomination and secondment to be put forward for election: –


OFFICE                                       NOMINEE                                NOMINATED BY                SECONDED BY                                                                                        

Vice- Captain                          Sue Garrod                  Chris Mear                                      Nicola McKemmie-Watson


Competitions Committee        Barry White                  Sue Garrod                         Richard Fuller

Competitions Committee        Dave Hadden               Gail McKemmie-Watson      Philip Angus

Competitions Committee        Jackie Eldridge             Chris Mear                          Barry White


Handicap Committee              None to Date

Handicap Committee              None to Date


Treasurer                                            Richard Fuller                                      Sue Garrod                 Barry White


With nine (9) days remaining, please remember that all completed nomination forms must be returned by hand or e-mail, to the resort reception to arrive no later than 17.00 hrs. on Thursday 29th February.

Immediately after the closing date for the presentation of Nomination Forms, each member will be sent a ‘Voting Form’ identifying those persons going forward for election to each position.

All completed voting forms must then be returned to the Clubhouse at Desert Springs by 17.00 hrs. on Sunday 31st March, again, by hand or e-mail. Following the verification of the validity of the voting forms submitted and their counting, the names of the successful candidates elected for office by the membership will be announced.