• From: Sewy Tron
  • Date: 1st August 2020
  • Subject: A spectacular place

A spectacular place where you are assured of a very good value for money. An excellent treatment from the staff and a fantastic gastronomic proposal from the new chef.

  • From: Trip Advisor
  • Date: July 2020
  • Subject: Superb Venue

Superb venue that reflects a setting in the middle of Mexico.

Refined cuisine at a more than affordable price, very welcoming and helpful staff.

  • From: Trip Advisor
  • Date: July 2020
  • Subject: Fantastic reopening

We visited El Torrente on Saturday which was the first night they reopened after the closure caused by COVID-19. The team have done an outstanding job.

The restaurant was so well set up and welcoming with all safety measures in place but did not feel clinical at all.

It was buzzing with life and we enjoyed the most amazing meal we have had at El Torrente; new food on the menu and delicious new selection of wines. We have already booked again.

  • From: Roland Bunke
  • Date: Monday 23rd March 2020
  • Subject: Roland’s experience at Desert Springs Resort

 

Apartments / villas in combination with one of the best golf courses in Spain at a very high level.

The spacious departments are very well equipped, nothing is missing.

The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen are great and very well maintained.

The whole urbanization is very beautiful and luxurious at every point.

There is also one of the most beautiful golf courses in Spain and a very well-kept restaurant.

Apartments are recommended on the 2nd floor with a view of the sea, the golf course and the mountains.

Terrific!

  • From: Adam S
  • Date: Monday 9th February 2020
  • Subject: A Golf Oasis in the Desert!

A Golf Oasis in the Desert!

A short and convenient journey from one of its many surrounding airports, tucked away near the South East Coast of Spain lies a mesmerising golf resort, full of beauty and wonder.

The luscious 18 holes meticulously trimmed and refined for its guests to enjoy, the cactus plants stand tall and proud as the January sun casts a shadow over the 18th, a perfect spot to enjoy a beer and watch your comrades finish their round.

The sun still beaming strongly entices us to relax on the clubhouse terrace, the meandering ducks around us seem to be doing the same.

The friendly staff full of competence and knowledge add to the enjoyment of our stay.

Dining at the restaurant is also an absolute pleasure, the beef in the stew so tender it melts in the mouth, the fish so fresh and full of taste it need not anything but a light squeeze of lemon to tickle the senses, the vegetable cookery so precise it was even easy for my 5 year old son to enjoy.

A short walk back to our villa, which overlooks the golf course, still in warm temperatures we sit by the pool under the night sky peppered with stars.

Our spacious villa full of comfort instantly transcends the mind into relaxation, away from the noisy world we all desired to run away from.

Exactly what the Doctor ordered. I look forward to my next stay here!

  • From: M Mungo
  • Date: Friday 7th February 2020
  • Subject: The Perfect Winter Break!

 

The Perfect Winter Break!

This was my third visit to Desert Springs, a resort that keeps on giving and getting better by the visit!

This trip was as part of a Golf & Cricket Combo weekend, and what a combination it was!

Over four glorious days in the Spanish sunshine we were treated to a morning round of golf each day on the exceptional course. From tee box to green the course was in fantastic condition and a true challenge! Miss a fairway and you best be confident in your short game! Each hole has something different to offer and it was a real pleasure to play a course of this quality in January.

The afternoons were spent using the resorts new cricket facilities, the best I’ve used, and we even managed to catch an international team on a training weekend. The football facilities have always been fantastic, and this visit was no different, a great afternoon off the golf.

The service from arrival to departure was of the highest quality, breakfast and dinner at the clubhouse were brilliant. I would highly recommend the chicken sandwich from the 19th hole on the course and the words of encouragement from the staff.

We all left the weekend having had a brilliant time and hope to visit again in the near future!

Thank you to everyone at DS!

  • From: Zandy Neasham
  • Date: Thursday 6th February 2020
  • Subject: Desert Springs Delivers Again!

Desert Springs Delivers again!

This was my second time out to Desert Springs and it certainly won’t be the last.

Just an hour from Almeria airport, this resort is a perfect holiday getaway.

From minute one we were extremely well looked after and the service from all members of staff was truly first class throughout.

We played golf most mornings and the course is a privilege to play. Each hole offers a different challenge and the scenery is spectacular. Again, the service was brilliant, and the staff made sure we had refreshments all the way round, I can recommend the chicken sandwich! The practice greens, driving range and option to rent clubs were all welcome additions too.

This isn’t just a golf resort either. The cricket, tennis and football facilities are unbelievable, and it would be a superb location for any sports camp/tour.

In terms of accommodation, we stayed in a beautiful villa overlooking the second green. My room had two terraces and a great view of the mountains and golf course.

The beds were comfortable, and it was everything you need for a relaxing stay.

We ate at the clubhouse every night and the food was great, as was the selection of wine and service from the waiting staff. The clubhouse is a fantastic place to relax in the evenings, either out on the terrace or on the sofa in front of the fire.

Desert Springs is a hidden gem and excellent value for what you’re getting. Whether you want to play sport every day or just relax by the pool, this place will provide exactly what you want.

I look forward to visiting again.

  • From: Charlie T
  • Date: Thursday 6th February 2020
  • Subject: The Perfect holiday getaway!

The perfect holiday getaway!

 

First time visiting Desert Springs and it did not disappoint!

Had an incredible four days filled with activities.

We were incredibly well looked after by all the staff who were so friendly!

The food and accommodation were perfect, and the Golf Course was in great condition, as was the cricket pitch!

It was the perfect place to get away and relax and enjoy some activities!

  • From: Harry & Gloria
  • Date: Sunday 5th January 2020
  • Subject: New Year’s Eve at Desert Springs Resort

 

Hi Ellie,

Just to let you know how much we enjoyed the New Year’s Eve party, food excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Sitting with such good people, we had an amazing time.

Thank you very much.”

Regards,

Harry and Gloria

  • From: Philippa Denny
  • Date: Thursday 2nd January 2020
  • Subject: New Year’s Eve at Desert Springs Resort

 

Hi Ellie

Thanks for the email – I would very much like to give you some feedback on New Year’s Eve.

As you know this is our 12th year (!!) coming to a New Year’s Eve event at desert springs and as always it did not disappoint.

Thank you for your hard work and I would also like you to pass on our congratulations and gratitude to the new manager and the waiting/bar staff who as always really made sure that we are well looked after – the chef made an appearance and was given a rousing round of  applause which was richly deserved !!!

Well done again Ellie and please pass these good wishes on to all others involved.

Philippa and Steve Denny

  • From: Nigel & Sylvia Howard
  • Date: Wednesday 1st January 2020
  • Subject: New Year’s Eve at Desert Springs Resort

 

Dear Ellie

Please pass on our thanks to all who were involved in making last evening such a success.

We all agreed that it was the best New Year’s Eve by far.

The room and dance floor were not too crowded, the food was delicious, the wines well chosen, the DJ excellent and the waiting staff as efficient and pleasant as ever. All of which contributed to a lovely atmosphere.

Our best wishes to you all for a happy, healthy and successful year ahead.”

Nigel and Sylvia Howard

  • From: Eureka V
  • Date: Sunday 29th December 2019
  • Subject: Eureka’s experience at Desert Springs Resort

 

“Do you want to escape the cold European or hot Australian weather?

Do you enjoy playing golf, playing on picture perfect fairways? Maybe a game of tennis or just relaxing and breathing in fresh air?

No. 6 Desert Springs is the place for you and your family where you have all the luxuries from home – in a spacious villa.

The golf resort club house restaurant is a stroll away for the times you want someone else to spoil you with their cooking or just enjoy a drink (or two) at the bar.

The location is great when you want to explore surrounding townships. You can even have a dip in the Mediterranean which is only a 10 minute drive away!

We had our second visit here within a 2-year period and we are planning our next visit again!”

  • From: Dan Godding
  • Date: Thursday 14th November 2019
  • Subject: PGA Europro Tour Championship

 

“PGA Europro Tour Championship”

 

Hi Simon,

A MASSIVE thank you to you and your amazing team for staging yet again another brilliant, perfect and excellently orchestrated tour championship.

We absolutely love Desert Springs, it’s such a beautiful place and a real home for the tour, our team and all the members.

Please send through a winter offer and we’ll make sure all the players know about it.

Thank you again mate, absolutely brilliant!

Best

Dan.

  • From: Ash Weller
  • Date: Thursday 14th November 2019
  • Subject: PGA Europro Tour Championship

 

“PGA Europro Tour Championship”

 

Simon

Just wanted to say thank you to you, your amazing team and your members for another fantastic week at Desert Springs.

My favourite place to work and I know the players loved the course and the hospitality.

Please pass on my sincere thanks to all involved and I look forward to seeing you again sooner rather than later.

Kindest regards

Ash

  • From: Guy M
  • Date: Sunday 10th November 2019
  • Subject: Group Golf Holiday – Tripadvisor Review

 

 

 

“Desert Springs Delivers Again”

 

Another unforgettable trip to the Desert Springs Resort with both family and friends.

The villa we stayed in was idyllic, overlooking the second green with views of the stunning desert scenery in the background.

Being keen golfers, we played every morning and it was in brilliant condition and almost fully prepped for the upcoming PGA event.

The post-game food and drinks at the club house were fantastic (the best we’ve ever experienced there) – would recommend the club or steak sandwich and the staff are always attentive and interested in your day.

Must also note that the value for money is first rate considering the location and quality.

Thank you again to all the Desert Springs team – will be back soon!

 

 

  • From: Ben H
  • Date: Sunday 10th November 2019
  • Subject: Group Golf Holiday – Tripadvisor Review

 

“Golfing Paradise”

 

First trip to Desert Springs and it certainly didn’t disappoint.

This is golfing paradise for those looking for some winter sun not too far from home – the course layout, condition and facilities are as good as any I have encountered around the world.

The staff and F&B in the clubhouse are both excellent and the price point more than agreeable.

We were there as a group of friends, but I plan on visiting with family next time as Desert Springs offers something for everyone.

For those that did want to leave the estate – there is plenty going on in the charming local towns of Mojácar and Villaricos.

All in all – a fantastic trip; would highly recommend and will definitely be returning.

  • From: Tomo Barton
  • Date: Sunday 10th November 2019
  • Subject: Group Golf Holiday – Tripadvisor Review

 

 

“Desert Springs Delivers Again”

 

This was my 3rd visit to the beautiful Desert Springs Resort and I had yet another superb time.

On this occasion I went with three friends and we enjoyed making full use of the facilities, including the tennis courts, paddle tennis courts (this proved particularly competitive) and gym, as well as of course the range and golf course.

Whilst not a great golfer myself (in fact a very poor golfer), my friends who play more often than I, thought that the course was in fantastic condition and loved the design and variability of the holes. The setting is quite breath-taking so even someone of my standard was able to enjoy.

We stayed in one of the course-side villas which worked perfectly for us. It was clean and tidy and catered for our every need.

We never felt it necessary to venture too far from the resort, however we went to a great beach on one of the days (20/25 minute drive), we watched a professional football match in Almeria (for about €20) and visited the local market in Villaricos one morning (10 min drive) – this is well worth doing even if it’s just to buy some chorizo and fresh veg for lunch!

We had breakfast at the clubhouse every morning and made use of both the crocodile club and/or the club house again for supper. The menus were good and fairly priced, and we had no complaints at all with the quality or taste of the food.

All in all we had a fun, active, yet relaxing time and hope to return in 2020.

  • From: Alastair Law
  • Date: Thursday 7th November 2019
  • Subject: Group Golf Holiday – Tripadvisor Review

 

 

“Fabulous Golfing Destination”

 

Eight of us on a long weekend three night / four rounds of golf in early October had a really good time.

The course is excellent and unique in many ways – in great condition and challenged all of a mixed handicap group.

Accommodation in a lovely villa on the course was perfect for us.

The bar and restaurant on site team looked after us superbly.

Everyone enjoyed the varied menu which was surprisingly good value.

We didn’t need to leave the resort but there is a lively early and late evening scene in Mojacar for those that want it.
And…. the best thing is we’re doing it all again next year.

  • From: Lips Chick
  • Date: Saturday 2nd November 2019
  • Subject: El Torrente restaurant – Tripadvisor Review

 

“Excellent – Fillet Steak!”

 

6 of us dined one evening, all having fillet steak and wow it was absolutely superb.

So tender and perfectly cooked.

Service is great, and it’s a lovely place to dine.

  • From: Jane A
  • Date: Sunday 3rd November 2019
  • Subject: El Torrente restaurant – Tripadvisor Review

 

Excellent meal and attentive service

 

Excellent meal and attentive service.

Our waiters Yara and Yisel were extremely professional and friendly.

Lovely atmosphere.