Club Elections

Desert Springs is holding its tenth elections amongst members to choose a Vice-Captain, Treasurer and two members for each of the Club’s Handicap and Competitions Committees, for the period 1st April 2014 through to 31st March 2015. The closing date

for all completed ‘Club Officials Election Nomination’ forms to be returned to the Club was 18.00 hrs, February 28th.  


Martin Brännström, Golf Operations Manager commented,


“During the nomination process, Jaki White and Martin Vanstone withdrew their names for nomination of election to the Competitions Committee. Those Nominees listed below that have accepted their nomination confirm their willingness to represent fellow members and to build upon the foundations created by previous Club Officials for the benefit of all. We would take this opportunity to encourage all members to show their confidence in them.”


Where a person has been nominated more than once, we have only listed one of the nominations.


The following persons have accepted their nomination and secondment to be put forward for election to the office of:-


OFFICE                    NOMINEE               NOMINATED BY          SECONDED BY


Vice-Captain        Martin McLellan         David Mathewson        Janet Mathewson


Treasurer            Richard Dunphy          Nicky Vanstone           Martin Vanstone



Committee          Paul Taylor               Janet Mathewson         David Mathewson



Committee          Lynne Taylor             Nicky Vanstone            Martin Vanstone          



Committee          Richard Fuller           Sandra Edwards           Wikkie de Graaf



Committee           Philip Miles              Richard Fuller               Adrienne Ruiz


A ‘Desert Springs Golf Club Officials Vote Form’ identifying all those persons put forward for election to each position has been sent to all members. They are also available at the Clubhouse reception and an e-mail vote form has been posted on our website in the Owners section at: –



The qualification for voting is that all persons wishing to vote must be current members of the Desert Springs Golf Club.


All completed voting forms must be returned to the Clubhouse Reception at Desert Springs by 18.00 hrs on March 31st by hand or e-mail, but preferably not by post in view of the vagaries experienced. Once validated, the votes submitted will be counted and the names of the successful candidates elected for office by the membership along with the number of votes received will be announced.