Desert Springs Golf Club Officials Election Results


Voting in the Fifteenth annual election of the Desert Springs Golf Club to choose a Vice-Captain, Treasurer and two members each for the Club’s Handicap and Competition Committees for the period 1st April 2019 through to 31st March 2020 closed at 17.00 hrs. on the 31st March. Validation and counting of all votes received has been completed and the names of the candidates elected by the membership are as follows;


OFFICE                                               NOMINEE                               VOTES RECEIVED              


Vice-Captain                                     Philip Webster                                    11


Treasurer                                           Richard Dunphy                                  11


Handicap Committee                      Chris Mear                                           11

Competitions Committee               Barry White                                        11


Competitions Committee               David Hadden                                      7


The closing date for all completed ‘Club Officials Election Nomination Forms’ to be returned to the Club was 17.00hrs. on Thursday 28th February 2019.

On 1st March 2019 the Club published and distributed a Golf News announcing the nominations received, the persons that had accepted their nomination and secondment to be put forward for election, and to which office.

A completed Nomination Form had been submitted registering Chris Robinson to stand for election to the Competitions Committee. This resulted in three nominations being registered for the Competitions Committee and one nomination being received for the Handicap Committee.

After the closing date Chris Robinson informed the Club that he had meant to be nominated for the Handicap Committee and not the Competitions Committee. Subsequently the Club received a total of 6 completed Vote Forms that had been altered by various members with Votes assigned to Chris Robinson for election to the Handicap Committee.

This matter led to the delay in the official Club announcement informing the membership of the results of the election process, as it had to ascertain who had been responsible for the aforementioned changes to the official Vote Forms, which had resulted in them being invalid.

The matter was addressed and fully discussed at the recent Club Committee Meeting, whereby it was agreed that subject to there being no objection received by the Club from any member by 31st May 2019, that the Votes received for Chris Robinson to be elected to the Handicap Committee be accepted.

Malcolm Lacey, Golf Operations Manager commented;

“The Club would like to extend its thanks both to those members that stood for election and those who demonstrated their confidence in the nominees and exercised their right to vote.
I am sure that all members will join me in thanking Past Captain John Haydon for his dedication and time given to the Club and welcome Patricia Deraedt as Captain.

We look forward to continuing to work together, with the aim, as always, to build upon the foundations created by previous Club Officials for the benefit of all.”


For further information contact:

Malcolm Lacey
+34 670 613 900