Golf News

Desert Springs is holding its fourth elections amongst members to choose a Vice-Captain and two members for each of the Club’s Handicap and Competitions Committees, to take office for the period 1st April 2008 through to 31st March 2009. The closing date for all completed ‘Club Officials Election Nomination’ forms to be returned to the Club was February 29th.  

Simon Coaker, Director of Golf commented,

“There have been no further nominations since the last communication; nevertheless it is good to see that there are nominees for all the offices to be filled. In accepting their nomination, these Nominees confirm their willingness to represent fellow members and to build upon the foundations created by previous Club Officials for the benefit of all.  We would take this opportunity both to wish the Nominees good luck and to encourage all members to show their confidence in them.”

Where a person has been nominated more than once, we have only listed one of the nominations.

The following persons have accepted their nomination and secondment to be put forward for election to the office of:

Vice-Captain Philip Martin Lockyer
Barry Carver
Michael Wherlock
Gerald Tompkins
Michael Malin
Susan Tompkins
Handicap Committee Gerald Tompkins Michael Wherlock Michael Malin
Handicap Committee Paul Taylor Gerald Tompkins Susan Tompkins
Competitions Committee Philip Martin Lockyer Michael Wherlock Michael Malin
Competitions Committee Wikki De Graaf            Barry Carver            Pauline Carver

Each member is now being sent a ‘Voting Form’, also available from the golf reception in the Clubhouse, identifying all those being put forward for election to each position. An e-mail voting form will also be posted on our website in the Owners section as soon as possible.

The qualification for voting is that all persons wishing to vote must be current members of the Desert Springs Golf Club.
All completed voting forms must be returned for the attention of The Club Secretary at Desert Springs by March 31st by hand, e-mail or fax, but preferably not by post in view of the vagaries experienced. Once validated, the votes submitted will be counted and the names of the successful candidates elected for office by the membership will be announced.

For further information contact: Lina Rodriquez (Club Secretary)
Telephone: (+34) 627 435 343